About FMM

The Department of Metallurgy and Materials Science (DMMS)

is established center with 60-years of tradition to prepare highly qualified engineering, scientific and teaching staff in the field of new materials and technologies, production, casting, plastic deformation and thermal treatment of ferrous and non-ferrous metals and improvement of energy and ecological efficiency of industrial production.

Section: “Metallurgy”

The Department of Metallurgy and Materials Science is the only department in the country where engineers in the field of "Metallurgy" are prepared for the emerging needs of metallurgy industry, casting and some branches of mechanical engineering.

Section: “Materials Science”

DMMS prepares engineers in the specialties of section "Materials Science" for industrial technology and research in all areas of classic and new materials, processing of raw materials to product of consumption.

Our Goal

Faculty of Metallurgy and Materials Science is an established center for training of highly qualified engineers - bachelors, masters and doctors. In Bulgaria the specialty "Metallurgy" of UCTM is the only one which trains specialists in all kinds of industries in the metallurgical industry, metal casting and some branches of engineering, which makes it unique in the country. The total number of academic staff is 46 of which 23 are having academic rank (11 associate professors and 12 professors), 3 "PhDs", 31 - "doctors".
In DMMS specialists are trained in areas whose relevance and importance do not need a proof.


Prof. Dr. Eng. Emil Mihailov
е-mail: emil@uctm.edu
phone: (+359 2) 81-63-182, 81-63-361

Deputy Dean

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Eng. Irena Mihaylova
е-mail: irena@uctm.edu
phone: (+359 2) 81-63-377

Department of Physical Metallurgy and Thermal Equipment

Head of Department: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Eng. Dimitar Krastev
phone: (+359 2) 81-63-358
E-mail: : krastev@uctm.edu

Department of Ferrous Metallurgy and Metal Foundry

Head of Department: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Eng. Rumen Petkov
phone: (+359 2) 81-63-343
E-mail: cast-rum@uctm.edu

Department of Metallurgy of Non-Ferrous Metals and Semiconductors Technologies

Head of Department: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Eng. Vladislava Stefanova
phone: (+359 2) 81-63-390
E-mail: vps@uctm.edu

Department of Silicate Technology

Head of Department: Prof. Dr. Eng. Stoyan Djambazov
phone: (+359 2) 81-63-370
E-mail: djam@uctm.edu

Materials Science Centre

e-mail: materials@uctm.edu

Chairman: Prof. DSc. Donka Angelova
phone: (+359 2) 8163 353, 81-63-356
Е-mail: donka@uctm.edu

Technical Organizer: Prof. Dr. Eng. Rozina Yordanova
phone: (+359 2) 8163 356; (+359 2) 8163 354
Е-mail: materials@uctm.edu


Newsletter Subscription

Subscribe with your email address to stay upto date. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit, sed diam nonummy nibh euismod tincidunt ut laoreet dolore magna aliquam erat volut

Go to top